He Said/She Said (Episode 1: Be Kind Rewind)

This post is the first installment in what I hope will be a more or less weekly feature of this blog. He Said/She Said. The idea is that Pop Culture Casualty and I will report back to you on a movie, play, dogfight, catfight, or some other less civilized form of entertainment that we both experienced together. Two people, same place, same time, same event, two perspectives. One last note, on my rating system…

ω = sucks balls

↔ = on a scale of 1 to 10 it’s on the scale but I’m not taking the time to come up with an exact number because it’s just not worth it <relative to ω it’s better, relative to everything else it’s worse>

¿? = WTF

¼/½/¾ = how much of the film or whatever I enjoyed <if it’s ½ or more I suggest going to see it because that’s about all you can reasonably expect from American entertainment these days>

$ = I’d go again

$$ = I’ll own it if it’s ownable

Ω = if there were a God, he’d be a little jealous.

See? Simple really IS better!

So without further ado, I give you Be Kind Rewind, produced, written and directed by Michel Gondry of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind fame and starring Mos Def, Jack Black, and Danny Glover. For those of you who don’t like to read too much, I’m giving this film a ¾.

Some parts I liked: after Jack Black’s magnetization he is attracted to metal objects with hilarious inconsistency. The chain link fence below the overpass? Yes! See Jack fly into the fence to the delight of all. The steel girders supporting the overpass above Jack? No! See everyone’s disappointment… The main source of enjoyment for me though is the sort of low-tech creativity that was prevalent in The Science of Sleep, another Gondry film. It’s as though he looks around him at all the junk and odd people and says, “This is beautiful. I bet I could make a movie with this and help other people see how beautiful I think it is.” I’m a sucker for that kind of imagination… Danny Glover’s hair… Best line: The past belongs to us. We can change it if we want… The closing credits song = Ω.

Some parts I didn’t like: !!!WARNING: SPOILER MATERIAL AHEAD!!! Why was Danny Glover’s competitor sleeping in the x-rated section of his video store and why did he lend his projector at the end? Alma’s mustache… the huge pimple on the first customer’s nose.

So that’s it. Be sure to read Pop Culture Casualty’s take on the film!

One Response to “He Said/She Said (Episode 1: Be Kind Rewind)”

  1. Nice review tinman. Can’t wait to get your take on the next one…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

